Home » Turkey, Rio Grande

Kansas Rio Grande Turkey - Hunt #21-T



Click on a photo to see a larger version.

This outfitter leases over 30,000 acres for his deer and turkey hunts. Location is the southern Flint Hills of Kansas in the western part of Turkey Management Unit 6. The majority of the turkeys here are Rio Grande but there are some Rio / Eastern hybrids.

This is a fun hunt not only due to the high number of turkeys but due to the open terrain which makes the turkeys visible. Woodlots and brushy draws provide enough cover to get the hunters into a good calling position. Past hunters have experienced a 100% shot opportunity. Kansas law allows harvesting two gobblers on the same day.

A guide will accompany and assist the hunters but the hunters can do their own calling if they choose to. This is fairly easy terrain to traverse and the guides will tailor the hunt to your physical ability.

Guiding is included and is done 2 hunters per guide. Hunters booking alone will be paired with another hunter unless no other hunter is booked during that time period. The guide will pick up the hunters before dawn and take them afield. Hunting typically commences around 5 pm to allow the birds to return to the roost areas.

Also included are in-field transportation, noon meals and beverages during the hunt. Lodging, breakfast and evening meal not provided. Turkey permits are not valid for 12 hours after purchase.

Season dates are the second Wednesday in April through May 31. Hunters are required to buy a non-resident hunting license ($97.50) and a non-resident turkey permit ($62.50 one bird) for Unit 6. Hunter’s doing a two bird hunt need to buy the non-resident hunting license ($97.50) and a non-resident Combo permit/game tag ($87.50) which provides two tags. The deadline for the spring turkey combo permit is March 31. After March 31, hunters doing a two bird hunt need to buy a non-resident turkey permit ($62.50) and a non-resident game tag ($32.50). License and permits are unlimited and available via phone or at vendor locations - no online sales.

Kansas law requires that all hunters born after July 1, 1957, must successfully complete a certified hunter education course in order to purchase a hunting license or to hunt. There are exceptions for youth hunters under adult supervision. Kansas does honor certificates of completion from other state approved courses.

3 Day Hunt - $900 for 2 birds